Improving Birth-Rally for Change Honolulu

Slide1

Why I’m rallying to improve birth

Hearing my grandmother’s and my mother’s birth stories, I realized first hand what was being talked about in “The Business of Being Born”.

My grandmother had given birth in a hospital where she remembers only being shaved, given drugs and waking up to my mother in her arms.  My mother is an only child.

My mother would tell my birth story to me a few times in my life and it was always with no fear and with a sense that birth was just a natural part of life.

In the BOBB, we learn about the “Twilight Sleep” era, then during the 70’s the resurgence of natural births and breastfeeding.  Unfortunately, my births were also very ‘mainstream’ after not listening to my intuition, I had both of my babies at a hospital.

While my experiences were not as horrific as others, for me, my daughters birth felt stolen.  I didn’t know who to tell, what to do, or that I had a ‘reason’ to feel the way I did.

4 generations

After seeing “The Business of Being Born”, doing research, taking workshops and submerging myself into anything that had to do with birth, I realized that women are still being used as experiments.

My reason for rallying, is that this madness needs to stop.

Our daughters deserve better, our babies deserve better, we deserve better.

Birth matters

Leave a Reply

